First blog post

First blog post

My name is Jim Dougherty. I am a married permanent deacon for the Society of Our Lady of the Most Holy Trinity (SOLT). I last worked as an Autism Aide for the Hilo Union Public School in Hilo, Hawaii, and am now caring for my parents in Wilmington, Delaware. But several years ago I served SOLT as a fundraising consultant. In that capacity, I used to visit Detroit to fundraise, and I would stay at SOLT’s Seminarians’ House in the former Redemptorist Fathers’ rectory at Holy Redeemer Church. In the second floor chapel of the rectory, I took this picture of the altar face. I was spellbound by this mosaic. I would sit and pray in front of the Eucharist and gaze upon this mosaic. For me, this mosaic of Jesus laying on a covered slab in the tomb was the most emptying and yet fulfilling images I had ever glimpsed. In Him, I can see the full meaning of His life and death, and foresee His Resurrection. I can see my own life, as well as more fully mourn the life of my son Aaron, who died in 2002 at the age of 26.

Leave a Reply

